The Quit command causes
GIMP to close all images and exit. If there
are any open images which contain unsaved changes (that is, they are
not marked as “clean”),
GIMP notifies you and displays a list of
the unsaved images. You can then choose which images you would
like to save, or you can cancel the command. Note
that if you have a large number of images open, or are using a
large part of the RAM on your system, it may take a little
while for everything to shut down.
Activating the Command
You can access this command from the Toolbox menubar or the image
or by using the keyboard shortcut
For most systems on which the GIMP runs,
you can also execute it by clicking on a
“Close” button somewhere on the Toolbox window's
titlebar. The location and appearance of this button are
determined by the windowing system and the window manager.
If you close the image window, as described above,
GIMP simply closes your image.
However, if you close the Toolbox window by using the
“Close” button, GIMP