|Revision $Revision: 1.11 $
is, if you have changed it since the last time you saved
it — you are asked to confirm that you really want to
close it. Note that an image is marked as clean when it is saved to a
file, even if the file format chosen does not preserve all
the information in the image, so it is a good idea to think
for a moment about what you are doing before closing an image.
If there is the slightest possibility that you will regret it,
it can't hurt to save a copy as an XCF file.
command closes the image
and removes its window. Closing an
image is not undoable: once it is closed, everything is gone,
including the undo history. If the image is not “
Activating the Command
You can access this command from the image menubar through
or by using the keyboard shortcut
For most systems on which the GIMP runs,
you can also execute it by clicking on a
“Close” button somewhere on the image window titlebar.
The location and appearance of this button are determined by the
windowing system and the window manager.
If you close the image window, as described above,
GIMP simply closes your image.
However, if you close the Toolbox window by using the
“Close” button, GIMP