Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Programming
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Databases
Mail Systems
openSolaris
Eclipse Documentation
Techotopia.com
Virtuatopia.com

How To Guides
Virtualization
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Windows
Problem Solutions

  




 

 

2.7.  Undo History dialog

Revision History
Revision $Revision: 1.27 $ 2006-03-09 j.h

Figure 9.21.  The Undo History dialog

The Undo History dialog

This dialog shows you a list of the actions you have most recently performed on an image, with a small sketch that attempts to illustrate the changes produced by each. You can revert the image to any point in its Undo History simply by clicking on the right entry in the list. For more information on GIMP's Undo mechanism and how it works, see the section on Undoing.

2.7.1.  Activate the dialog

The Undo History dialog is a dockable dialog; see the section on Dialogs and Docking for help on manipulating it. It can be activated in several ways:

  • From the Toolbox menu: File->Dialogs->Undo History.

  • From the Toolbox menu: File->Dialogs->Create New Dock->Layers, Channels, and Paths. This gives you a dock containing four dialogs, with the Undo History dialog one of them.

  • From an image menu: Edit->Undo History.

  • From an image menu: Dialogs->Undo History.

  • From the Tab menu in any dockable dialog: Add Tab->Undo History.

2.7.2.  Using the Undo History dialog

The most basic thing you can do is to select a point in the Undo History by clicking on it in the list. You can go back and forth between states in this way as much as you please, without losing any information or consuming any resources. In most cases, the changes are very fast.

At the bottom of the dialog are three buttons:

Undo

This button has the same effect as choosing Edit->Undo from the menu, or pressing Ctrl-Z; it reverts the image to the next state back in the undo history.

Redo

This button has the same effect as choosing Edit->Redo from the menu, or pressing Ctrl-Y; it advances the image to the next state forward in the undo history.

Clear Undo History

This button removes all contents from the undo history except the current state. If you press it, you are asked to confirm that you really want to do this. The only reason for doing it would be if you are very constrained for memory.


 
 
  Published under the terms of the GNU General Public License Design by Interspire